News & Events


Dr Amit Kumar Rana, MBBS, MS FCCS, currently working as Associate Professor at the Department of Otolaryngology and Head-Neck Surgery at SRMS Institute of Medical Sciences (SRMS IMS), Bareilly has added another feather to his cap by becoming a ‘Fellow’—a Member of The American College of Surgeons (FACS), wherein 62 ENT surgeons were the part of the program in FACS around India, and Dr Rana bags the third number in entire UP. However, ACS appreciated him for membership and his active involvement in the College’s educational, legislative, and research activities.
The American College of Surgeons (ACS) admits to its fellowship only surgeons whose professional activity is devoted to surgical practice and who agree without compromise to practice by the professional and ethical standards of the college, and Dr Amit Kumar Rana is one of them. He achieved a FACS degree (Fellow of the American College of Surgeons) in a Convocation held in San Diego, California, which is a great achievement at personal and professional level.
Havinga keen interest in research, Dr Amit Rana has been awarded earlier a ‘Certificate of Appreciation’ for best performance as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Otorhinolaryngology, and also been felicitated by Shri Dev Murti, Chairman SRMS Trust for his contribution towards the development of the Institute.A recipient of Gold Medal for presenting a Consultant Award Paper at 38th UP AOICON 2022 held at Jhansi, Dr Rana has also publishedtwo research articles in 2020 and 2022in the reputed ENT journal ‘American Journal of Otolaryngology and Head Neck Surgery’ with an impact factor of 2.9 (5th highest impact factor in ENT journals worldwide). His latest research outlines the importance of Culture Sensitivity Testing of ear discharge before starting antibiotics to combat the resistance to drugs, so that‘Superbugs’ do not emerge, for which, India has gained a notorious reputation due to indiscriminate use of antibiotics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *