SRMS Trust to Observe the 29th Death Anniversary of Late Shri Ram Murti Ji by Awarding Scholarships of Rs 3 Crores

admin Blog, Events/Workshops, Latest News & Events, News

27 September 2017 | Bareilly

On 2nd October 2017, institutions run by the SRMS Trust (SRMS College of Engineering & Technology Bareilly, SRMS College of Engineering, Technology & Research Bareilly, SRMS Institute of Medical Sciences Bareilly, SRMS College of Engineering & Technology Unnao, International Business School Unnao and others) will observe Shri Ram Murti Ji’s 29th death anniversary, in addition to the birth anniversaries of Late Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri and Late Shri Mahatma Gandhi.

Rich tributes will be paid to the freedom fighter, former UP minister, and former parliamentarian Shri Ram Murti Ji at Shri Ram Murti Centennial Auditorium of SRMS College of Engineering & Technology, Bareilly. On the occasion, 700+ students will receive approximately Rs. 3 Crs. worth of scholarships from the SRMS Trust. This corpus of scholarships is one of the largest by a single trust in India.

Shri Ram Murti Ji always inspired and worked for the deserving students from the economically weaker sections of society. Initially started in 1991 with a modest amount of Rs. 7,320, the allocations of scholarships have continued to spread. From Rs. 1 Cr. in 2007, the amount was increased to Rs. 2 Crs. in 2009 and 3 Crs in 2017. Started from the 10+2 levels in 1991, the scholarships now cover under-graduate & post graduate students of the trust institutions. Total number of scholarship recipients is 700+.

Apart from the scholarships, the Trust will also honour the winners of its annual National Story Writing and Hindi Debate Competitions. These were initiated in 1995 to promote creativity and extracurricular learning. The topics for these competitions are usually chosen to represent contemporary societal issues, which helps to maximise relevant learning opportunities. The topics for the debate of this year are as follows:

Junior Level

Senior Level

The students proved their par brilliance. The winners for Debate Competition were


First Sakshi Mehrotra (SRMS CET&R, BAREILLY)
Second Sudhanshu Ranjan Pandey (SRMS CET, BAREILLY)
Third Lalit (Bareilly College, Bareilly)
Consolation Khusboo Yadav (SRMS Dept. of. Pharmacy)


First Ayushi Awasthi (SRMS CET&R , BAREILLY)
Second Anshika Johari(Bareilly College , Bareilly)
Third Naseeem Khan (ANA College Bareilly)
Consolation Shashikant Shukla(MJPRU Bareilly)


First Ayushi Johari (BBL Public School, Bareilly)
Second Ayanti Mishra(GRM School, Bareilly)
Third Hitesh Gangwar( Jai Narayan Inter College, Bareilly)
Consolation Renu Maurya (Shri Guru Nanak Rikki Singh College)


First Palak Vatwani (GRM School, Bareilly)
Second Pragati Agarwal (BBL Public School, Bareillly)
Third Shubham Mishra (Jai Narayan Inter College, Bareilly)
Consolation Anjali Singh (Shri Guru Nanak Rikki Singh College)


First Anshika Agrahani 5000/-
Second Varish Gautam 4000/-
Third Neha Surbhi Sagar 2500/-
Consolation Naman Updhyay 1100/-
Consolation Sarthak Saraswat 1100/-

Speaking about the upcoming events, Founder & Managing Trustee of SRMS Trust Shri Dev Murti Ji said “One of the most important reasons to introduce these scholarships has been to encourage academic excellence amongst students. SRMS institutions aim to encourage this excellence both through these scholarships as well as by providing the best of facilities and resources to their students.”

On that day, the Trust also honours achievements by eminent personalities with the Ram Murti Pratibha Alankaran Award. Some of the people honoured so far are Prof. M.S. Sode (Vice Chancellor, Lucknow University), Dr. J.C. Bass (Eye Surgeon, Bareilly), Prof.Wasim Barelvi (Urdu Poet), Dr.Nawal Kishore (Gynaecologist), Dr. Braham Prakash (Neuro Surgeon), Shri K.P. Saxena (Poet), Prof. Rajveer Singh Yadav (Nephrologist Surgeon), Shri Ashok Kumar Goyal (Businessman), Shri Ashok Kumar Agarwal (Journalist), Prof. S.S. Agarwal (Director, Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Medical Institute, Lucknow), Shri Bhuwan Chandra Harbola (Cricketer), Guru JitendraMaharaj Ji (Kathak Dancer), Justice P.K. Jain, Kranitkari Shri Ram Murti (Freedom Fighter from Pilibhit), Shri Sunder Lal Bahuguna (Environmentalist), Dr. V. K. Jain (Nuclear Scientist), Shri Sudhanshu Ji Maharaj (Preacher & Social Reformer), Col. Suresh Joshi (Eminent Army Personnel), Ms. Priyanka Chopra (Miss World), and Dr.Nalini & Dr.Kamalini (Kathak Dancers).