News & Events


26th annual conference of Association of Radiation Oncologists of India – UP chapter was organised by Department of Radiotherapy, R. R. Cancer Institute and Research Center, Shri Ram Murti Smarak Institute of Medical Sciences, Bareilly. The theme of the conference was “Update on Breast and Cervix Malignancies”.

The scientific schedule was divided into 6 sessions consisting of 18 lectures, 2 panel discussions and B N Lal Oration. The prestigious B N Lal Oration was given by Dr. K. J. Maria Das, faculty and senior medical physicist from SGPGIMS, Lucknow on the topic “Towards Quality Assured Radiotherapy – Experience Over Two Decades”.

Dr. Ramesh S. Bilimaga, President AROI, also graced the occasion by his presence and delivered a lecture on “Cyberknife”. Eminent faculties from apex institutions of India made the scientific content more rich. Dr. Shyam K. Shrivastava, Head-Radiation Oncology, TMH, gave a deliberation on “Brachytherapy in Gynecological Cancers”. Dr. R. K. Vyas, Director-GCRI,
delivered a lecture on “Stagewise Decision Making in Carcinoma Cervix”. Dr. Punita Lal, Professor from SGPGIMS, Lucknow, made a talk on “Adjuvant Radiotherapy- Advances in Techniques and Schedules”.

There were two foreign faculties, Dr. Y. S. Nagar (London) who delivered a lecture “Radiotherapy Techniques- Transition From 2D to 3D” and Mr. Karthick Raj Mani (Bangladesh) who delivered a talk on “Stereotactic Body Radiotherapy: Localization of Delivery”.

Besides scientific deliberations two panel discussions were held. Dr. Neeraj Rastogi (SGPGIMS, Lucknow) was the panel coordinator for the panel session “Cancer Breast- Various Clinical Scenarios”. The second panel session “Cancer Cervix-Various Clinical Scenarios” was conducted by Dr. Shantanu Sapru.

The conference was specially focused on our young upcoming radiation oncologists by organizing PG Quiz, Oral and poster paper presentations. There were 38 abstracts submission from different medical colleges of U.P. “Young faculty paper presentation” was a novel feature in the state chapter which gave an opportunity and platform to the present generation of radiation oncologists for presenting their research work before the senior and junior generations.

There was an active participation from the twelve residents of department who were given the special title of “Special Task Force”.

The conference was highly appreciated by all the delegates and faculty. It had a lasting and enriching impression on the minds of each of the participants. This conference educated about the conventional radiotherapy techniques to the postgraduates and updated about the latest techniques of radiotherapy at same time.